Pan-pipes on the river bank.

While out running yesterday I nearly fell over as I passed Athlunkard boat club, beautiful flowers caught my eye so today I returned with my camera.

My journey was to bring me beyond the boat club along an old, not much used path. I’d ventured into a field across the river to photograph some wild daisies; then I noticed an old path.

Sure why not take it and see where it leads to?

Cautious voices might say, “Be careful, that could be dangerous,” At times they might be right, but  it was  good to have pressed on to see what might be ahead. These more ‘hidden places,’ can and do throw up their own surprises and today’s little journey was no different. It took me along the banks of the Abbey river in Limerick from Athlunkard street up to the bottom of the Mill road opposite Thomas’s Island. It’s crossed by the Ennis railway line and a train kindly came along to let me know it’s still alive and active.

Sometime in the distant past people walked this way on a more regular basis and seats were placed along it, but for some reason they all faced away from the river. Some of these rusty seats  were disappearing now into the undergrowth. Yes, there’s a seat in there;

There’s a narrow wall to keep the river at bay but I wouldn’t trust it in a flood. A few years ago there was bad flooding in St Mary’s park in Limerick. Heavy metal girders were sunk into the river bank to strengthen it but they’re certainly not the most pleasing things to be looking at? They appear almost like pan-pipes on the river bank!

The river is a restful place and where better to relax than in a small boat with no one to bother you? This man certainly had the right idea;

My journey changed course on coming out at the bottom of the Mill road, Limerick once had many Mills but they’re all gone now. Here the river flows briskly and adds it’s own vibrancy to the day.

 

About Eugene Ryan

Irish Photographer, Occasional Runner and lover of beauty.
This entry was posted in A walk on the riverbank, Eugene Ryan Photography, Hidden places, Irish trains, Journalism in Ireland, Limerick city, Observations from a riverside walk., pan-pipes on the river bank, Photo walk. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment