It never stopped, why should I?

Not for one minute, not for twenty seconds. When it rains in Ireland it has a tendency not to stop until everything is good and wet and today that included me. But I have to admit it was completely my own doing.

I decided to go for a run regardless of the weather, as I ran along the canal a cyclist slowed beside me, “you must be very dedicated to be out in this weather?”

Having an eastern European accent he said he was heading home from work. He appeared happy to cycle alone next to me as I pulled my body along, giving the appearance of running but in reality happy to be able to just keep moving  at a steady pace.

I made a comment on my new companion’s bike, as it was a fine mountain bike he was gliding along on. “In 18 seconds they’d the wheels gone!” he’d had to change the nuts on the wheel as quick release are not always a good idea when parking a bike in town, especially if you want everything there on your return?

“I’m from Latvia, Russian is my native tongue.” That quickly told me where my new found friend was from, “So you’re from the part of Latvia close to Russia?” he was delighted that someone knew their history or could at least put structure to his comment. “You’re very welcome here,” I commented. All this probably took five minutes as I headed out towards UL  on a wet September morning glad of the company as we traveled along together.

“I’m coming from work, I used to have a car but insurance too expensive,” just then a younger runner who clearly was not on her first run sailed past us. Ah, I’m not the only mad one out today I thought to myself. “You’re a good man,” he said as he cycled off to he’s bed after his night shift and  I continued alone over the fallen leaves of Autumn or Fall.  It’s always good to be out and today was no exception.

Through the mist I saw a man walking towards me with a big dog. Staying relaxed I pass on over fallen branches from Storm Ali which left its mark yesterday on the country. Another runner passes me, there are fit people out this morning not deterred by wet weather or as we say locally ‘a soft morning.’  I’m happy just to be out and see others enjoying the morning as they travel along this well-trodden path today. Swinging by the two new bridges on the way to UL I’m at the boat club before I know it.

I’d decided to keep thing’s short today so it’s turn around time as I’m happy just to be out. I notice the Black Bridge by the old mill at Plassey, it’s been blocked off now almost ten years since in the winter of 2009 after another winter storm. Sad to see it still not in use nine years later. I head back home and return wet but refreshed and glad to have made the effort on a wet September morning in Limerick.

Enjoy the winter.

 

About Eugene Ryan

Irish Photographer, Occasional Runner and lover of beauty.
This entry was posted in 'it's a soft morning.', A run on a wet morning., a wet September morning in Limerick., Autumn Run, cyclist, Enjoy the winter., Exercise is fun, Fun, International Journalism, Ireland, Irish Runner, Irish tourism, Limerick Smarter Travel, Marathon Running., Morning Run, Running, Running along the canal., Running Magazines, Russian is my native tongue, September run., Shannon River, Winter approaches., winter run, Writing. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment